An Interview With Author Merita King Science Fiction Writer

front 300 wide

Merita’s newest book available on Amazon

I posed some questions to Merita so we could get to know her better. Here are the results of that interview:

How do you develop your characters ? Do you keep outlines, or files on returning characters ?

I write a very basic outline for my characters.  I do it for each book and call it The Cast List.  Just their name, age, where they’re from, their physical appearance, their job and any significant traits they may have.  Enough for me to get started with them, and as I write, the character builds along the way.  With my returning characters, I add significant events from previous books in the series to the outline, to save me having to go through a previous book and look something up.  Quite often, I’ll put something in the cast list, but when I write the character, it changes, so I have to go back and change it.  My characters are in charge, they tell me all about themselves and I get to know them intimately.  They’re real to me, they’re my friends and I’m constantly learning new things about them.

What made you write your first novel, and what  are you working on now?

The reason I wrote my first novel is due to a suggestion from Vin Diesel.  Back in 2011, his facebook page used to have a discussion page, and he once said why don’t the fans write a scene of their own for his character Riddick, as a way of stretching our creativity.  I didn’t do it for a long time; I wrote poetry back then and had a firm belief that I couldn’t write a story.  I read some of the other fans’ stuff, and most of it was just a vehicle for their sexual fantasies regarding the character and had quite a laugh over it.  Then one day, I was reading some of it and I just though, I can surely do at least as well as this trash, why not have a go and see what happens.  So I wrote my scene and realised pretty quickly that this story could run and run.  It had a good plot and loads of development potential.  My problem then was copyright and trademark law.  If I wrote that story, with that character, I could end up being sued by the guy who wrote him, so I dumped my story and started over with brand new characters using the same plot and storyline.  I wrote solidly for two months and ended up with Redemption.

What I’m working on now, is the third book in my Sinclair V-Logs series.  This will be the ninth book I publish, and stars Sam Sinclair, the inter-galactic space cop.  I have an anthology of my horror short stories coming out in December, and another science fiction novel in Feb or March.  This book I’m writing now, should be published in early Summer 2014.

Tell me about yourself so readers get to know you.

I’m 51, single and live on the south coast of England.  I have autism, so social interaction is not my strong point, and I have found as I’ve grown older, that I can only express myself truthfully when I write.  I don’t have friends or family, and I’m one of those creative types who lives inside their head most of the time.  I’m always creating in my mind, even when I’m out doing my day job, which is cleaning houses.  Ever since I was a teenager, I’ve wanted to write a novel, but never had the ability or confidence to try, and it wasn’t until two years ago that it finally happened.  For the first time in my life, I feel I’ve finally found my reason for being here.  I’ve tried so many things over the years, and failed at them all, until I started writing science fiction novels and realised what my destiny is.  I’m a psychic medium, I make Native American inspired pow wow fans, and I love doing digital artwork inspired by my two passions, Riddick and Dwayne The Rock Johnson.  I drink Jack Daniels and Canadian Club, I love strong cheese that blows your head off, and I’m allergic to duck eggs.

What was the driving force that makes you write?

My driving force to write is two fold.  First, is the knowledge that this is my destiny, and this is the legacy I will leave to the universe after I’m dead.  I have found a way to get my voice heard, after 50 years of struggling and even after I am long forgotten, my words will still part of the universal consciousness forever.  That is so cool.  Secondly, I enjoy it and I’m good at it and after a lifetime of struggling to find a niche, and failing miserably, I’ve found a way to be creative.  It’s not something everyone else does, and it does have a certain ‘cool’ factor when it comes up in conversation.  I just know that this is what I have to do.  It’s by divine order that I do this.

If you could have lunch with any, one, writer, who would that be, and why?
I always find these ‘which writer do you like’ type of questions really difficult.  I’m not inspired by writers, or their books.  I’m inspired by movies and movie makers an if I could lunch with anyone, it would have to be the director Dave Twohy.  He is amazing, and if my books ever get made into movies, I want him to direct them.  As for writers, I’ve always found them to be a rather self absorbed bunch, and certainly not helpful to new authors like myself.  I can’t be inspired by that attitude.  Movie makers love to talk about the creative process and those behind the camera are generally reserved and humble, not like the ego driven authors I’ve met so far.  Directors have an instinctive knowledge of how to bring a story to life so that what has been just inside your head, is suddenly in physical form.  I could learn so much from Dave Twohy, and having dinner with him would be the chance of a lifetime.
Is there anything else you like to talk about ?
If you love science fiction you’ll love my novels.  Buy The Lilean Chronicles, The Sinclair V-Logs and Acts of Life in paperback and ebook formats from Amazon and all leading internet suppliers.

 
Thank you so much for letting me interview you Merita. I look forward to reading  Bygora Vandros : Sinclair V-Log
LB 734/A.  You’ll find all of Merita King’s books on Amazon.
2 thoughts on “An Interview With Author Merita King Science Fiction Writer

  1. I really enjoyed learning more about Merita. It makes me very interested in reading her books now that I know more about her background and inspirations.

Leave a Reply

